Jason Isbell, Chris Stapleton Take Top AMA Awards

Chris Stapleton accepts the 2016 Artist of the Year award at the AMA Awards & Honors show. Photo by Amos Perrine.
The Americana world got dolled up last night and turned out for the Americana Music Association's 15th annual Awards & Honors event in Nashville. Here's a list of the winners:   Album of the Year: Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, produced by Dave Cobb Artist of the Year: Chris Stapleton Group/Duo of the Year: Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell Song of the Year: “24 Frames” Jason Isbell, written by Jason Isbell Emerging Artist of the Year: Margo Price Instrumentalist of the Year: Sara Watkins Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music  Association and the First Amendment Center: Billy Bragg Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer: Shawn Colvin Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting: William Bell Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance: Bob Weir Lifetime Achievement Award, WagonMaster: Jim Lauderdale President's Award: Woody Guthrie   The awards show also paid tribute to folks who have left us in the past year, including Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, Ralph Stanley, and Guy Clark. Jim Lauderdale hosted the show, which was punctuated with music from the all-star house band, featuring Dave Cobb, Stuart Duncan, Fred Eltringham, Steve Fishell, Matt Rollings, Chris Wood, and The McCrary Sisters.